From Special Reports

The Coweta Community Foundation has just released the new team members of its 2018-19 Community Service Team.

In the fall of 2015, the Coweta Community Foundation launched its first Community Service Team for local freshmen and sophomores. Members of the team met monthly to study local nonprofits and learn more about how they operate, and at the end of the year, they chose to give a grant to the Community Welcome House.

Building on its successful first year, the group added even more members for the 2016-2017 school year, and they awarded their second grant, this time to the Coweta Organization for Riding, Rehabilitation and Learning (CORRAL). In the 2017-2018 school year, the group expanded once again and awarded its third annual grant to Backstreet Arts.

This fall, the fourth group of community-minded high school students, the largest yet, was selected. Members include Elizabeth Alexander, Cade Barker, Shelby Barrow, Ariyana Blake, Gracie Bolton, Ashlyn Carney, Jay Channell, Lili Clark, Megan Czerwinski, Lela Daniell, Chloe Epstein, Sara Ashley Estes, Tevyn Fudge, McKenzie Fuller, Michaela Fuller, Keriyona Geter, Jessie Himes, Jihun Kang, Gracie Martin, Michelle McGrath, Ansley McGuire, Katelyn McMath, Samantha Morrison, Taylor Kate Murphy, Khushi Patel, Grayson Porras, Mary Patten Poulakos, Conlan Ridgeway, Willis Tripp and Sarah Warburton.

These students are already busy learning about the world of Coweta nonprofits and will again be awarding a grant before the end of the school year.

The objectives of the Community Service Team are to:

• Build awareness of local nonprofits among high school students.
• Provide an opportunity for active participation in local nonprofit organizations.
• Train young teens to serve as auxiliary board members of local nonprofits during their junior and senior years.
• Bring new ideas and youthful energy to local nonprofit agencies.
• Provide an opportunity for the team to research and select one local nonprofit to receive a grant for a special project or program.

Membership is determined through an application and interview process among high school students. They attend monthly meetings during which they are introduced to the various nonprofit organizations serving Coweta citizens, and they also participate in two workdays with a nonprofit agency. At the end of the student’s two-year participation, nonprofits may invite the participant to serve as an auxiliary member of the Board of Directors. In addition, a standout team member each year is awarded a $500 scholarship from the Coweta Community Foundation.

The Community Service Team leaders include Foundation board members Cynthia Bennett, vice president of the Newnan-Coweta Chamber and a retired Coweta County educator, and Michael Nix, local government liaison with the Office of the Governor in Atlanta.

“We’re so excited about this new group of students we’ve just welcomed,” said Orren Jones, executive director of the Coweta Community Foundation. “These are going to be some of our community’s leaders in a few years, and we can’t wait to see what kind of impact they will have on our community.”

The Coweta Community Foundation has announced the members of its 2018-2019 Community Service Team, and they include, front row, from left, Megan Czerwinski, Ansley McGuire, Keriyona Geter, Taylor Kate Murphy, Lili Clark, Michelle McGrath, Shelby Barrow and Jihun Kang; second row, from left, Conlan Ridgeway, Grayson Porras, Samantha Morrison, Ashlyn Carney, Elizabeth Alexander, Lela Daniell, McKenzie Fuller, Ariyana Blake and Willis Tripp; and at back, from left, Khushi Patel, Katelyn McMath, Sarah Warburton, Gracie Bolton, Jessie Himes, Tevyn Fudge, Mary Patten Poulakos, Jay Channell and Michaela Fuller. Not pictured are Cade Barker, Chloe Epstein, Sara Ashley Estes and Gracie Martin.